One of the most frustrating sides of WhatsApp is that it notifies all users in a group when you decide to leave the messaging app’s group. So if you’re planning to leave the family group, everyone will get a little note saying you’re gone, which can be awkward at times.
The problem is not limited to WhatsApp and also occurs in other instant messaging apps. However, that will soon change. WhatsApp is reportedly working on a new feature that will allow users to quietly exit groups they don’t want, Indian Express reports, 17 May 2022.
According to WABetaInfo, this feature is currently in development and will come to a future app update. With the new feature, when a user leaves a group, only the group admin will be notified of the exit. Other users will not be notified.
The screenshot also reveals how the exit prompt looks to the user. See below.
The feature has already been spotted in the WhatsApp Desktop beta, but will most likely be coming to the WhatsApp beta for Android and iOS later. Like most of the features in testing, this one will also be coming to all devices with WhatsApp when the stable update rolls out, probably in a few months.
In other news, WhatsApp is reportedly adding the ability to include more detailed link previews in status updates (the WhatsApp version of ‘Stories’ feature).
Another report by WABetaInfo shows that the latest beta version of the app produces a more detailed preview for the link when it is shared in a status update.
The image above, taken from the beta version of WhatsApp for iOS, shows the preview. This feature will come in handy for people, allowing people to check stories for a quick look at the website. Note that the preview of the new link is also more detailed than the current spring preview that you sometimes see in Android apps.